Brad visits the Blacksmith

I’ve always been fascinated by blacksmiths.  Sure, my first visits were when my dad dragged us in, asking what seemed like hundreds of questions before we were done.  But then something happened – I became the one asking questions.  My family knows this, and I think they were a bit concerned about the rest of our day when I was lured in by the sound of iron being pounded into shape.  I dig it all – the stoking of the fire, the smell, the way the temperature of the fire is controlled, the hot iron being made into what the blacksmith knows is needed.

After many visits to blacksmiths, I thought I had heard most of the lessons and techniques they share.  But today there was something new.  As the apprentice dipped the iron into the fire, I noticed it was the handle side, not the glowing red part that was cooled.  It was explained that the iron rod was getting shorter, so the handle was getting hotter to hold.

Was it tossed away after a few more hits?  No, the expert had a better plan.  The two ends of shorter iron pieces were heated at the same time, and then the blacksmith did something that intrigued me.  The heated ends were laid on top of each other, the hammer came down, and the two pieces melded together to become one.  Just like that, what had been two became one inseparable piece.

And all I could think of was marriage.  What I witnessed was a beautiful example of what marriage is made to be.  From the beginning of creation, the master plan for marriage has been that a man will be “united to his wife, and the two will become one flesh” (Gen. 2:24).  This is God’s plan.  He created me, and He knows best.

So, the two become one, just like those two pieces of iron became one.  We were never meant to become “one” before marriage, and we aren’t made to be separated after we become “one” in marriage.  That new piece of iron immediately went back into the fire, and that can happen to marriages, too.  But, it still remained one solid piece of iron as the master worked his plan.

My family got me out of the blacksmith’s shop (eventually), but I am grateful I saw such a wonderful picture of marriage as I stood beside Sara…my “one”.

Leave a Reply

